Review: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh


Allie Brosh is the creator of the successful blog Hyperbole and a Half, which she began in 2009. It's an autobiographical blog/web comic, though with a higher ratio of text to pictures than you would usually get with a comic. This volume covers diverse topics such as advice Allie would like to give her eight year old self, how she lied to her family for years about loving hot sauce, her genuine love of dogs and a terrifying incident involving a goose. There is some heavier subject matter, such as the sections about the at times somewhat overwhelming struggle to be a 'proper adult', something I can relate all too well too. Then there are the sections about Allie's battle with depression. These might be upsetting to some readers, but they do give a really good insight into the difference between what depression can actually feel like and popular misconceptions of it. There are laugh out loud moments too. The bits about Simple Dog, Allie's mentally challenged doggy friend, cracked me up.

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem , and Other Things That Happened is equal parts insightful and hilarious. It's a fun book that will probably appeal to fans of Heart and Brain, It's all Absolutely Fine or Sara's Scribbles.

Published: 2013

Rated: ★★ ★ ★ ☆

Allie's second book, Solutions and Other Problems, will be out in September 2017


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.